Moving On

Before my boss left for rehab, we had one last business trip to attend together, out of state, and sharing a hotel room. I was nervous, as I did not know how bad her addiction had become, and I wasn’t sure I could be the bad guy and stop her from drinking while we were on our trip. Well my fears were completely founded. She was a mess, having to drink martinis at lunch just to keep her hands from shaking. Luckily, she missed a lot of the actual conference meetings, and showed up at cocktail hour when everyone else was drinking and did not notice. So she was never out of place. I learned a lot, and attended several of the conference meetings for the both of us. But while I was there, one of the other franchise owners won an award. And they introduced her by saying that she was the foster parent of a dozen children. And I started to think, maybe fostering and adoption was the way to go? My cousin who is a beloved member of the family was adopted. My husband’s cousin (second cousin) and his siblings all went through foster care. Adoption is not a foreign topic in our families. My sister and I always discussed the importance of adoption growing up.

When I returned home from the business trip, I did all the online research that I could on adoption– domestic, international, and through foster care. Then I just had to bring it up with my husband!

3 thoughts on “Moving On

  1. Excellent post. I was checking constantly this blog and I’m impressed! Very helpful information particularly the last part 🙂 I take care of such information a lot. I used to be looking for this certain info for a long time. Thank you and best of luck.

  2. Superb blog you have here but I was curious if you knew of any
    forums that cover the same topics discussed here? I’d really like to be a part of group where I can get advice from other experienced individuals that share the same interest. If you have any suggestions, please let me know. Kudos!

Leave a Reply

