Having the “Talk”

When we tried this Spring to have our second child, I got pregnant on the first try. We figured out our due date, and came up with names. I took my prenatal vitamins, ate healthy and got much-needed rest. I felt super pregnant. Then early into the pregnancy I had a miscarriage. It definitely affected me much more than my husband. I couldn’t talk to anyone about it, since no one really knew I was pregnant to begin with. I felt like a whiner because we have a happy and healthy two-year old.  Since I wasn’t that far into the pregnancy, I really felt like I couldn’t complain. I’ve known many strong women who have endured miscarriages and I cannot put my loss on the same level as theirs. But I was sad, and really confused of what went wrong. It’s amazing how much hope and faith we put into something that is only a few weeks old. I had an ultrasound afterwards and everything looks healthy and as it should, so I feel blessed in that aspect. But this whole ordeal, while many women have to endure, made me think about our family path. Was I even ready physically or mentally to get pregnant again? When I discussed adoption with my husband, he was on board. While he definitely prefers to have at least one more biological child, he has always wanted a large family. We met later in our lives and married when I was 28 and he was 31. So for us to have the large family we prefer would put me into my 40s. I am not interested in having children when I am 40!

After reading up on foster care, adoption, and respite care for foster families I felt very drawn to serving these children and giving them a warm, loving home. I can only imagine the wisdom that these children have to share with others. This would be a way for us to have our large family, without me being pregnant at 40, and welcoming older children into our family. Our daughter would have siblings to look up to!

Leave a Reply

