Due Diligence

I have been amazed at my inability to gain information regarding foster parenting through the county where I live and the local private agencies. I realize that these offices are super busy, are probably understaffed, and do not have ample resources for the volume of work that they produce. However, each office noted their great need for new foster families. So it makes me sad that there are so many children in foster care and these offices need help, but it is so difficult to get any answers! (Just the county I live in listed their total children in foster care to be around 600. Wow. Sad.)

I decided to start my research into foster parenting by looking at our local county and their family services. I emailed the official foster care address, called the foster care office for information and signed up for a future information session. I received a form email back saying that I would receive information in the mail from the county, as well as a follow-up phone call in order to confirm my attendance at the next information session. That was a month ago and I have yet to hear anything!! I even tried emailing back to confirm the date and time of the next information session… No luck. On the website each information session is listed, but the location is “to be determined.” I called the foster care hotline which includes updates for their information sessions, and it obviously hasn’t been updated recently because the recorded message speaks to the “upcoming” April 30th session.  So while I would love to start our foster parenting process now, it’s probably not going to be through the county since I can’t even get the address for an information session!

I am ready to go, but trying to be patient!

One thought on “Due Diligence

  1. Hi I am so delighted I found your blog, I really found you by accident, while I was browsing on Yahoo for something else, Anyways I
    am here now and would just like to say thank you for a
    remarkable post and a all round interesting blog (I also love the
    theme/design), I don’t have time to read it all at the minute but I have bookmarked
    it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read
    much more, Please do keep up the excellent jo.

Leave a Reply

