Discrimination Against Non-Moms

While in Charlotte last week for the birth of my nephew I got to spend quite a bit of time with my brother-in-law’s sister. We are close in age. She’s a special education teacher and very smart. I like her a lot and we get along very well. I don’t see her often but when I do it’s always nice. She is not married yet and does not have any children. Because I was with her most of the day my sister was in labor at the hospital, I was able to see how she was treated and how her opinion was valued compared to mine. Because she has not been pregnant, had labor and delivery, and raised a child, her voice was no being heard in the hospital. Being a special education teacher, she has quite a bit of wisdom to impart. But because she has not yet gone through those experiences, my voice was being heard instead. I know she has profound sadness that her younger brother is starting  a family before her. She greatly wishes to be married and have a family, but she hasn’t found the right relationship yet. I stood by her in labor and delivery, both literally and figuratively. I was in tune to how she was feeling and how she was being treated. I have learned from her experiences to watch how I treat moms and non-moms alike. We all have wisdom to give, and I should be more open to hearing other voices!

Leave a Reply

