Adoption Party Planning!

I’ve already cried and will continue to cry and keep crying through the adoption. The gravity of the situation does not escape me. But it’s also time to celebrate. After five years of uncertainty, these child will receive PERMANENCY! They are staying somewhere (all together), they belong somewhere, they have parents that will fight for them and help them and hug them and wipe their noses and make sure they brush their teeth. Parents who will not treat them differently because they are foster children. Parents who will push aside everything else to help study for a science test or run to the store for cookie cakes to take to school on their birthday. We are giving these children FOREVER. They will be my babies FOREVER. Yes, they will have another mommy and daddy forever. I hope that my babies will feel their love again in their life. But if so or if not, I will be here. Hubby will be here. Madeline will be here. Loving them till the end of the Earth. They belong FOREVER. It’s time to celebrate.

So. I am thinking of a Where the Wild Things Are theme for their post-adoption day party. I searched high and low for ideas. I am just not into the whole “grew in my heart” or “you are the missing piece” themes that I found. I read a lot of the quotes from the book (and movie) and it just fits.

“Please don’t go, we’ll eat you up we love you so.”

“There should be a place where only things you want to happen, happen.”

“Inside all of us is hope, fear, adventure. Inside all of us is a wild thing.”

“Let the wild rumpus start!”

“Max the king of the wild things was lonely and wanted to be where someone loved him best of all”

I will update you once I figure out some more of the party!

2 thoughts on “Adoption Party Planning!

  1. I love Where The Wild Things are! When I taught preschool we had furry monster costumes (just a fur fabric with a hole cut out for the kids heads) and a wild rug where we would read stories.

Leave a Reply

