Working Hard for the Money

Yesterday I was super bummed about work. Before I left for North Carolina on Friday I talked to my boss about how things were working out with the position. I know I wrote about my concerns last week. Everything came to a head when I had to start signing paperwork and booking travel for my AmeriCorps training (scheduled November 18-21 in Boston).

Here, they wanted me to sign a waiver that said I was not taking on their health insurance. But that was a super big deal for me! I did not get many details prior to accepting this AmeriCorps VISTA position and I really wish I had! Here, I had to sign that I did not want to take on their insurance for the year that I was under contract with AmeriCorps. This was all well and good until my current insurance through my husband’s company said they would charge us extra for both myself and my daughter each month because I was waiving insurance from my employer. I can’t switch insurance! Not only would it be a huge pain (for just a year contract), but I had a stroke in January and heart surgery in May so I am not prepared to give up relationships I have with these doctors. Therefore, this AmeriCorps position was just not cut out for me. My boss totally understood the issue I had with spending an extra couple hundred dollars a month a month while basically having a volunteer position. But she also did not have extra funding available to bring me on without the contract with AmeriCorps.

So my boss emailed me on Sunday and basically said that she would have to let me know in the future when they had enough funding to bring me on. I was super bummed yesterday. Despite helping them since July, I haven’t been paid. I had to wait until November and the AmeriCorps training before my contract officially started. I felt kind of duped, like I gave them all this advice and developed strategy for them without keeping compensation in mind. It’s a cause that I wholeheartedly believe in, so it was hard to be too mad. I was just frustrated at myself for not being more careful.

Then this afternoon my boss called me! Unfortunately one of the office staff members whose main job is case management resigned effective immediately because his mother has cancer. So my boss needs to restructure the office and bring in someone to help! She asked if I would consider a part-time position with both marketing and case management. I said of course! I think the local and National CASA do great advocacy on the part of the children and it fits in my goal of helping as many kids possible get what they deserve in terms of help and services. I have never done case management but I would love to learn. This week is crazy with Halloween parades, our last visit with our case manager and touring the private school so I will not get a chance to go into the office but that will give my boss some time to restructure and figure out where I will fit. Here I’ve gone from a year “volunteer” contract position with AmeriCorps to help the CASA office develop to actually being an employed (probably still contract) member of the staff!

It’s amazing how much can change in one day!

Leave a Reply

