Adoption Party: Where the Wild Things Are

Our celebration for the kids’ adoption is next Saturday. We are having it a local mega-church which has its own coffeehouse and indoor play place, much like a Starbucks/Panera hybrid with room for the kids to play despite the weather. Our theme is Where the Wild Things Are!

Of course I chose a non-licensed book so there isn’t a huge assortment of balloons/goodie bags/plates or napkins to order. I usually buy a lot of our party goods from Oriental Trading but they had nothing for Where the Wild Things Are OR Adoption-related. It’s been a recurring theme that most of the large party websites (I’m looking at you Amazon and Party City) do not have Adoption-related party supplies. Nor does our local Dollar Tree. It’s been very frustrating.

I sent out a digital invitation via email and Facebook to notify our friends. This etsy shop owner was super helpful in changing the wording of the invitation and was so fast at getting me the final product! Click through for links.

Where The Wild Things Are - Invite - Baby - Max - Nursery - Party - Hat - Crown - Onsie

I have the hardback book so that everyone that comes to the party can sign their well wishes to the children!

Where the Wild Things Are

I ordered two cupcake cakes from Walmart. They have a Safari babies line with beautiful ferns/palm leaves so we are having that in icing to decorate the cakes. This is a similar concept except the awesome lady made hers. I wish I had that kind of talent or time! (click image for link):

I found palm tree confetti at a local party store along with a bright green camouflage/jungle print. I also found gold cake plates.

Palm Trees Table Confetti

I ordered a Where the Wild Things Are banner from Amazon.

Where the Wild Things Are Max in Boat Childrens Literary Decorative Poster Print 12x36

I am printing/copying coloring pages for the kids or little ones that don’t want to play in the play place (even though it’s huge!)

Where The Wild Things Are Coloring Pages

Here are a few pictures I snapped of the play place. We will have use of the coffeeshop and play place for two hours on Saturday and it was super cheap as far as venues go!

photo 2 (17) photo 1 (17)

We are also ordering a bunch of solid color balloons to place strategically in the coffeeshop. I’ll edit if we add anything else!

One thought on “Adoption Party: Where the Wild Things Are

Leave a Reply

