About

I started this blog after a particularly eventful Spring in 2013, as I felt my family was headed into something very mighty and profound. My hope is to catalog our process into serving children in foster care, along with maintaining our marriage and raising our three-year old daughter the best we can! I work in marketing and my husband is a regional sales manager. We fight about the normal married-people things, we parent the best we can (with sage advice from others), and just try to make the best of every day.

We moved from Raleigh, NC to Milton, PA in January 2014. Along the way, I had a stroke and lost partial vision in both of my eyes. I am back to driving, but only in perfect (non-rainy or snowy or night) conditions. I had heart surgery in May 2014 and in November 2014 was considered “recovered.” I consider myself a “stroke victor,” as I beat the odds in the face of a sizable stroke. As of July, 2014 we were approved for foster adopt in the state of Pennsylvania! The day after we were approved we got a referral call for a sibling group of three… We accepted placement two days later. Our family has grown to include a nine year old girl, a seven year old boy, and a six year old girl. We jumped from one child to four overnight and while it is not easy, we have been adjusting as best we can. We are very excited to begin this journey. Our family adopted our three new children on November 7th, 2014. We are now navigating the waters post-adoption. We’ve survived adoption prep class, trauma recovery, Family Behavioral Health Services, learning support specialists, math coaches, etc. Stay tuned for new updates…

The characters in my family (all pseudonyms based off some of my favorite literary characters):

Little One: our biological daughter who is now four

Now Madeline, the well loved spunky/brave/courageous petite schoolgirl

Middle Girl: our foster/adoptive daughter who is now seven

Now Scarlett (as in Scarlett O’Hara) the charming and vivacious Southern belle

Little Man: our foster/adoptive son who is now eight

Now Huck (as in Huckleberry Finn) the likable and free wheeling chap

Oldest Daughter: our foster/adoptive daughter who is ten

Now Anne (like Anne of Green Gables), the orphan with beautiful red hair who is talkative and eager to please

I am an early thirty-something mom, wife, sister, daughter, friend. I live in Milton, PA with my husband, four children, and our two pups. We recently rescued a year-old bunny for my daughter’s birthday.

Please find us on Twitter: @hopefostering or email: fosteringourhope@gmail.com

hard and holy

kids

IMG_3216

DSCF1235

7 thoughts on “About

  1. Hello! I’m glad to have found you at the start of your foster care journey (as I am as well!) Things are done a little different in the US than Australia but I look forward to following your families journey none the less =)

  2. Christy K. says:

    Our stories are so similar, yet you took a bigger bite (we got a sib set of two who were infant and 5 YO, and we do not have any bio kids). I’m sure we have a lot in common, and I am following your journey with much interest! Prayers for 11/7! Blessings!

  3. Hi there! Thank you for sharing your experience via this blog! It is truly inspiring.

    I am a student journalist in Northern California currently writing a story about foster children and foster families’ access to dental care under Obamacare. I was hoping you’d be willing to talk to me regarding your experiences with foster care and public health care.

    We could communicate via email if you’d be willing. Just let me know!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s